AITO Dahl-Nygaard Prize Winners

The Senior Prize is awarded to Sophia Drossopoulou.

Sophia’s research contributions are wide-ranging and fundamental to a number of aspects of Programming Languages; she has contributed to advances in the theoretical underpinnings of mainstream language paradigms and has worked with a number of industry partners on new language designs. Her contributions started with the ECOOP paper, “Java is Type Safe – Probably”, which she wrote with her long-term collaborator Susan Eisenbach. The paper was the first attempt to come to judgment about the type-safety of Java; it served as a guide for generations of young researchers learning to write type systems for object-oriented languages. She followed this up with additional inquiries into Java: binary compatibility, linking and loading, and later, a formalisation of wildcards. She branched out into topics including dynamic object reclassification, type inference for dynamic languages, ownership types, and capability systems. Last but in no way least, Sophia contributed to the quality of many conferences by turning monologues into dialogues. To many in our community, she is a role model and mentor.

The Junior Prize is awarded to Heather Miller.

Heather has made significant contributions to the Scala language, community and ecosystem, through her research, community organizing and teaching. In her research, she made contributions to distributed programming with objects with her work on spores, concurrency, asynchrony, CRDTs, and functional programming in a big-data setting. In her community role, Heather was the co-founder and Executive Director of the Scala Center where she directed development of the language and libraries as well as set standards for the community process. As an educator, she designed and led a series of massive on-line classes on Scala, Spark and Big Data. Over 100 000 students have followed her curriculum.

AITO – 2023 Winners

AITO Test of Time Award Winners

Nathanael Schärli, Stéphane Ducasse, Oscar Nierstrasz, Andrew P. Black. Traits: Composable Units of Behaviour. ECOOP 2003. 10.1007/978-3-540-45070-2_12

AITO – 2023 ToT Winners

Distinguished Papers

Distinguished Artifacts

Distinguished Reviewers

We would like to thank and congratulate our ECOOP’23 Distinguished Reviewers for their exceptional contributions:

Distinguished Artifact Reviewers

We would like to thank and congratulate our ECOOP’23 Distinguished Artifact Reviewers for their exceptional contributions: